You got a new phone for the holidays and are ready to give your old iPhone to someone else or trade it for cash or credit. Erase everything from your old phone before giving it to someone else. Read on to find out why.
Erasing your iPhone data might be helpful in a variety of situations. You may need to reset your iPhone from time to time. However, you should not reset your iPhone just because you feel like it. There are times when you have to. You can reset your iPhone with confidence after reading this guide. We’ll walk you through all the essential steps that you must know.
What Happens When You Reset Your iPhone?
When you reset your iPhone, you lose all the information and settings you have saved on it, like your photos, contacts, apps, and browsing history.
Why Should You Reset Your iPhone?
You may want to reset your iPhone for more than one reason. Mostly, people reset their iPhones because of software problems, such as trouble connecting to networks or apps that keep crashing. By putting the phone back in its factory settings, you can fix these problems and get it to work again.
Resetting your iPhone before selling it is also a good idea. All your apps, contacts, photos, settings, and other information erase when you reset your iPhone. So, you should wipe all your personal data; first to ensure your privacy and secondly, to make other person’s transition easier.
If you buy a used iPhone with old information still on it, you may want to reset it so you can use it as a new device.
Resetting vs. Restoring
Resetting and restoring both put your phone back to when it was first made. But the way it works and the results are a bit different. Resetting is the easiest thing to do. You can do it right on your phone, without any other gadgets. It also keeps your operating system and firmware running smoothly.
When you restore your iPhone, you lose everything, including the operating system and firmware. Connect your phone to iTunes on a PC or Mac to complete the process.
What do I need to do First?
If your iPhone has become old or sluggish, you should only reset it as a last resort. Try turning it off and then back on your phone to see if that fixes the problem. You may also try removing your most recently used apps to see if that fixes the problem.
Once you decide to reset your iPhone, you should back it up. This process will ensure that you still have a copy of your contacts, photos, and other information during the reset process. You can back up your phone to iCloud, desktop, or iTunes.
How to Turn your Phone Back on?
Go to your phone’s settings menu and choose “General.” Then “Reset,” which is near the bottom of the screen for “General.” You will finally select “erase all content and settings” to return the device to its factory settings.
Depending on your iPhone type, you may get a message that your data and documents are sent to iCloud. Depending on how your phone is set up, you may also need to enter a passcode. Some iPhones will ask you to confirm that you want to erase your iPhone and then for your Apple ID password.
You can also reset only some parts of your iPhone. You may reset only certain content, like your privacy settings or the layout of your home screen, instead of all the content and settings.
What To Expect When You Reset?
Your iPhone will restart, which will start the process of resetting. You’ll see a blank screen with the apple logo and a progress bar. It can be a long process that can take a few minutes or more. If you’ve done a total reset by following these instructions, we bet you’ll get a brand spanking iPhone. Then you can change the settings, add your favorite apps, and save your contacts like the way you wish. If you want to keep your iPhone, you will have to take the time to set it up again the way you like.
Resetting your iPhone is a big step, but you should not be afraid to take it. If you follow these steps, you can easily reset your iPhone and get it to work again.